Skip to content
OptiPin app icon OptiPin
Download

SARMs, suppression and what is in the bottle

Selective androgen receptor modulators were designed to act on muscle while sparing prostate and skin. Selective never meant selective about your hormonal axis. The trial data on that is not ambiguous. Here are the six half-lives, the one figure the internet cannot agree on, what the clinical program actually measured about suppression, the liver cases nobody expected, then the analysis that found only about half of these products contain the compound on the label.

Longest half-life
RAD-140, 2.2 d
Suppression
Dose-dependent
Contained the labeled SARM
52%
Ever approved
None
TL;DR

The six half-lives, plus one number the internet cannot agree on Mixed

Start with the arithmetic, because it decides dosing frequency and it decides how long anything takes to build up or leave. These are the values in OptiPin's pharmacokinetic database, with the plateau column derived at roughly 4.3 half-lives.

Compound Half-life Plateau Evidence
Testolone (RAD-140)2.2 days~9.5 daysModerate
Ligandrol (LGD-4033)1.25 days~5.4 daysModerate
Ostarine (MK-2866)1 day~4.3 daysModerate
Cardarine (GW-501516)20 hours~3.6 daysLimited
S-234 hoursunder a dayLow
Andarine (S4)3.8 hoursunder a dayLow

RAD-140 is where this gets interesting. Most pages selling it quote a half-life of 16 to 20 hours. Others quote 44.7 hours from a phase I clinical dataset. Our figure is 2.2 days, so about 53 hours, which sits close to the clinical end rather than the retail end. The lower numbers appear to descend from preclinical work; the higher ones from human data. It is a large practical difference: at 16 hours a compound is gone in three or four days, at 53 hours it is still accumulating into the second week. Anyone confidently telling you the daily schedule is reasoning from a number they have not checked.

You can put any of these on a curve with the half-life calculator, or drop them into a stack alongside anabolics in the cycle calculator, which added all six in September 2026.

Selective means tissue, not pituitary Strong evidence

The selling proposition is in the name. Selective androgen receptor modulators were designed to act on muscle and bone while sparing prostate and skin, which is a real pharmacological goal and to a degree a real achievement. What the word never meant was selective about your hormonal axis.

The trial data is unambiguous on this. In the clinical program for ostarine, doses of 1 mg and upward significantly lowered both sex hormone-binding globulin and total testosterone, with the effect scaling by dose. SARMs suppress luteinizing hormone and follicle-stimulating hormone through the same hypothalamic-pituitary feedback loop that testosterone does, because as far as that loop is concerned an androgen receptor agonist is an androgen receptor agonist. There is nothing exotic happening.

That makes the most repeated claim in this category, that SARMs do not require post-cycle consideration, not a nuanced position but a contradiction of the trial data. Suppression is measured, dose-dependent and expected. Whether any specific post-cycle protocol helps is a separate and much weaker question, which the restart and PCT guide covers honestly. The point here is narrower: if you were told there was nothing to suppress, you were told something the manufacturer's own trials disprove.

The practical consequence is that LH, FSH and total testosterone belong on a baseline panel before starting rather than after something feels wrong. Without a personal baseline there is no way to tell recovery from a value you always had.

Cardarine is not a SARM at all Strong evidence

GW-501516 is sold alongside these compounds, listed on the same product pages, discussed in the same threads. It is a different class of molecule entirely. It is a PPAR-delta agonist. It has no androgenic activity, does not touch the androgen receptor, does not suppress the axis and does not belong to any of the arithmetic above.

It matters because its risk profile is also different. Development was abandoned after rodent carcinogenicity studies produced tumors across multiple organ systems at a range of doses. That is not an internet rumor with a citation bolted on afterwards; it is why a pharmaceutical company stopped work on a compound it had spent money developing. Our cycle calculator flags it separately for that reason.

What is actually in the bottle Strong evidence

Everything above assumes you took the compound on the label. A 2017 investigation published in JAMA tested that assumption directly. It is the single most useful thing to know about this category.

Van Wagoner and colleagues searched for SARM suppliers online, found more than 210 products, then purchased the 44 that were actually available. On analysis, only 52% contained the SARM named on the label. A further 39% contained a different unapproved substance that was not disclosed. Some contained none of the labeled compound at all. Labels listed ostarine, andarine, RAD-140, ibutamoren, GW-501516 and SR9009, which is very close to the product list you would see today.

Read against everything else on this page, that is the finding that reframes the rest. A half-life table is only useful if the substance is what the bottle says. A dose is only meaningful if the concentration is real. And a person who reacts badly cannot know whether they reacted to the compound they intended to take, to an undisclosed one, or to a dose several times what they measured. Roughly half the time, the answer to "what did you take" is genuinely unknown.

The liver signal nobody was expecting Strong evidence

SARMs are frequently marketed on being easier on the liver than oral steroids, since they are not 17-alpha-alkylated. The case literature does not support the comfortable version of that claim.

Fewer than 20 cases of SARM-associated drug-induced liver injury have been published since 2020, involving ligandrol, testolone, ostarine and YK-11. The number is small, as is the number of people who present to hepatology and get written up. What is notable is the pattern: with one exception, the reported injuries were cholestatic or mixed, which is the same picture the alkylated orals produce. One RAD-140 case was assessed as probable causality with severe injury and biopsy-confirmed canalicular cholestasis. In the reported cases, injury resolved after stopping.

So the honest statement is not that SARMs are hepatotoxic like Anadrol. It is that "not alkylated" was assumed to mean "no hepatic risk". The published cases show that assumption was too strong. If you are running one, GGT and bilirubin belong on the panel alongside AST and ALT, for the reasons that page explains.

Why none of them became a drug Strong evidence

The last thing worth knowing is that these compounds were not abandoned because they failed to work. Enobosarm, which is ostarine, reached two identically designed phase 3 trials for muscle wasting in lung cancer patients, each randomizing 150 people to 3 mg daily against 150 on placebo for 147 days. It increased lean mass. It missed the co-primary endpoints, which paired lean body mass with physical function. Physical function is where it fell down.

That is a genuinely informative failure. It says the compound does what the mechanism predicts to the tissue, while translating tissue change into function is harder than the mechanism suggests. It is also the closest thing this category has to a large, controlled, long-duration human safety dataset, which is worth remembering when someone describes SARMs as understudied. Ostarine is not understudied. The rest largely are.

Six compounds, six different curves

A schedule built on the wrong half-life is the wrong schedule

OptiPin models each compound on its own pharmacokinetics, so a 2.2 day half-life and a 4 hour one stop being treated the same way. It logs them alongside your LH, FSH and testosterone so suppression shows up as a trend rather than a surprise. On-device, no account.

Download on the App Store

Frequently asked questions

Do SARMs need PCT?

They suppress, which is the part of the question that has an evidence-based answer. In the ostarine clinical program, doses from 1 mg upward significantly lowered sex hormone-binding globulin and total testosterone in a dose-dependent way. SARMs suppress LH and FSH through the same feedback loop testosterone does. Selective describes tissue preference, never the pituitary. So the common claim that these compounds carry no suppression is contradicted by the manufacturer's own trial data. Whether any specific post-cycle protocol then helps is a separate and much weaker question, where the honest answer is that the evidence for particular protocols in healthy people is thin. Baseline LH, FSH and total testosterone before starting is what makes recovery legible afterwards.

What is the half-life of RAD-140?

Depends who you ask, which is the problem. Retail pages typically quote 16 to 20 hours, apparently descending from preclinical work. Human phase I data has been reported around 44.7 hours. OptiPin's database carries 2.2 days, so roughly 53 hours, which sits at the clinical end. The practical gap is large: at 16 hours the compound is essentially gone within three or four days, while at 53 hours it is still accumulating into the second week and takes about ten days to reach a plateau. Anyone giving you a confident daily schedule is reasoning from whichever figure they happened to read.

Are SARMs safer than steroids?

Safer in some specific ways, not categorically, though the marketing overstates it. They were designed to spare prostate and skin relative to testosterone, which is a real pharmacological aim. They still suppress the hypothalamic-pituitary axis in a dose-dependent way. Fewer than 20 published cases of SARM-associated drug-induced liver injury exist since 2020 across ligandrol, testolone, ostarine and YK-11, mostly cholestatic or mixed in pattern, which is the same picture alkylated oral steroids produce despite SARMs not being alkylated. And roughly half of products sold as SARMs do not contain what the label says, which caps how safe any of them can be in practice.

Is Cardarine a SARM?

No. GW-501516 is a PPAR-delta agonist with no androgenic activity at all. It does not bind the androgen receptor, does not suppress the axis and shares nothing mechanistically with the compounds it is sold next to. Its risk profile is also separate: development was abandoned after rodent studies produced tumors across multiple organ systems at a range of doses, which is why a pharmaceutical company walked away from a compound it had invested in. Grouping it with SARMs is a retail convention rather than a pharmacological one.

How much of what is sold as SARMs is real?

About half, on the best available measurement. A 2017 JAMA investigation identified more than 210 products offered online, purchased the 44 that were actually obtainable and analyzed them. Only 52% contained the SARM named on the label. Another 39% contained a different unapproved substance that was not disclosed. Some contained none of the labeled compound. The labels covered ostarine, andarine, RAD-140, ibutamoren, GW-501516 and SR9009, essentially the current product list. This is the finding that undercuts every other number in the category, because a half-life or a dose only means something if the substance is what it claims to be.

Did any SARM ever get approved?

None has been approved for human use. Enobosarm, which is ostarine, went furthest: two identically designed phase 3 trials in muscle wasting among lung cancer patients, each randomizing 150 patients to 3 mg daily against 150 on placebo for 147 days. It increased lean body mass and missed the co-primary endpoints, which paired lean mass with physical function. That is a useful failure rather than a damning one, because it suggests the compound does what the mechanism predicts to tissue while translating that into function is harder. It also means ostarine has more controlled human data behind it than everything else in this category combined.

Educational, not medical advice. This page summarizes the published evidence on selective androgen receptor modulators. It gives no doses and recommends no protocol. None of these compounds is approved for human use in any major jurisdiction, several are prohibited at all times in sport, while analysis of products sold online has repeatedly found undisclosed and mislabeled contents. Nothing here is encouragement to use them. OptiPin is a tracking tool, not a prescriber.

Related

Half-life calculator · Steroid cycle calculator · Liver enzymes on cycle · Restart and PCT · Bloodwork to monitor · Anabolic compound profiles · High hematocrit

Sources